Enter to Win a Custom Orange County Chopper!

Nationally Respected Legal Service

2018 Best of Best Award 2019 Best Law Firms Award top trial lawyers award Million dollar advocates forum award

We’re here to help.

Arkansas Pedestrian Traffic Laws

 

Pedestrians and Sharing the Road LawsDid you know that every year in Arkansas, an estimated 25 pedestrians die in accidents that could have been prevented? From hit-and-run accidents to drunk driving crashes, pedestrians face numerous dangers when crossing the road.

Pedestrians are the most vulnerable people on the road. There is no protection between them and the surrounding vehicles. After all, the human body is not made to withstand the forces of a car accident. Even when accidents occur at low speeds, pedestrians can suffer serious and fatal injuries. From broken bones to serious head injuries, injuries suffered in pedestrian accidents often result in long-term disability, pain, and suffering.

To help protect Arkansas pedestrians from harm, local and state lawmakers have passed numerous laws throughout the state. These laws help to keep pedestrians safe from the many vehicles that share the road with them. In addition, lawmakers from Little Rock to Pine Bluff have begun to evaluate and improve the various infrastructures throughout the metropolitan areas. These improvements seek to address safety concerns and create better traffic flow throughout the city. They also provide new and safer pedestrian paths and crossings to accommodate the growing number of pedestrians in urban areas.

Contact Us for Free Case Evaluation

Arkansas Pedestrians and Medical Aide Laws

Title 23 of the Arkansas Code Subtitle 3 Chapter 89 § 23-89-202 states that every automobile liability policy must cover any pedestrians struck by the insured motor vehicle. By law, pedestrians who are injured in car accidents can receive medical benefits and aid for up to $5,000 for injuries. They are also entitled to income disability benefits for up to 52 weeks at a maximum of $140/week, and accidental death benefits.

While this law does help injured pedestrians obtain some compensation after a crash, these benefits are typically exhausted quickly. As such, injured pedestrians in Arkansas will need to file an insurance claim, or personal injury lawsuit to collect the maximum compensation they deserve. Medical expenses alone after a pedestrian accident can easily reach into the millions, especially for catastrophic injuries that result in disability. For this reason, pedestrians injured in car accidents in Arkansas need to turn to a pedestrian accident lawyer as soon as possible.

Pedestrians and Sharing the Road Laws

Crosswalks & Intersections

Arkansas Pedestrian Laws and AccidentsPedestrians have a responsibility to follow all traffic rules and signals, especially at traffic signals. AR Code §27-52-1201 all pedestrians must follow the traffic signals and road signs at interactions. This means waiting for a green light or a walk sign. If there is no traffic signal in place, then all motor vehicles must yield to pedestrians who are crossing within a marked crosswalk.

AR Code § 27-51-1201 addresses what pedestrians are to do when attempting to cross the road outside a crosswalk. If a pedestrian needs to cross the road and there is no crosswalk, the pedestrian must yield to the vehicles on the roadway. Pedestrians should watch for no traffic before attempting to cross the street, or continue further to a designated crosswalk. Car drivers, however, must still use extreme caution to avoid hitting a pedestrian even when not in designated areas.

Who is to Blame After a Pedestrian Accident in Arkansas

After a pedestrian accident in Arkansas, there may be many fingers pointing the blame. Drivers may claim the pedestrian darted out in traffic. Pedestrians, however, may have a different story to tell. Perhaps the driver was speeding or distracted and on their phone. Due to the severity of injuries and the complexities surrounding these accidents, it is imperative to seek legal representation. You will need an experienced law firm on your side to investigate all angles of your case.

Your attorney will need to clearly establish who is to blame for your accident and your injuries. In some cases, multiple parties may share the blame, including:

  • The driver of the vehicle
  • Other vehicles
  • The city or county responsible for maintaining the roads and traffic signals
  • Employers of the driver

Contact Our Arkansas Pedestrian Accident Attorneys

If you suffered an injury in a pedestrian accident, you need an experienced and skilled law firm on your side from the very start.

With six offices in Arkansas and Tennessee—Little Rock, Fayetteville, Conway, Hot Springs, Bryant, and Memphis —our Arkansas and Tennessee pedestrian accident lawyers are easily accessible from the moment you need us. Contact Rainwater, Holt & Sexton Injury Lawyers

Tell us how we can help.

Who Can Sue for Wrongful Death After an Auto Accident?

Read More

What are Future Damages in a Personal Injury Case?

Read More

Car Accident Property Damage

Read More

Airbags Didn’t Deploy – Do I Have a Case?

Read More

How to Calculate Your Car Accident Compensation Amount

Read More

What is the Car Accident Statute of Limitations in Arkansas?

Read More

Pedestrian Laws

Read More

Speeding & Car Accident Liability

Read More

School Zone Accidents – Causes and Statistics

Read More

When Should I Get An Attorney for a Car Accident?

Read More

What is UM / UIM Insurance? Your Guide to Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Arkansas

Read More

Traumatic Brain Injury Lawyer in Arkansas

Read More

How to Appeal a Denied Auto Insurance Claim

Read More

Motorcycle Accidents Differ from Car Accidents in Many Ways

Read More

Drowsy Driving Car Accidents

Read More

Arkansas DUI Hit-and-Run Victim Awarded $900,000

Read More

What is a “Release of All Claims” Form?

Read More

Getting a Rental Vehicle after an Accident

Read More

Injured By a Car Accident as a Pedestrian

Read More

Who’s at Fault in a Left-Hand Turn Accident in Arkansas

Read More

Are Passengers Eligible for an Insurance Claim?

Read More

3 Common Causes of Brain Injuries

Read More

How to Recover Lost Wages After a Car Accident Injury

Read More

Common Ways Drivers Cause Motorcycle Accidents

Read More

Don’t Make These Post-Auto Accident Mistakes

Read More

Three Numbers to Dial After an Auto Accident

Read More

What Evidence Do We Look for After Truck Accidents?

Read More

How to Prepare for Your Accident Lawyer Consultation

Read More

There’s No Reset Button for Injury Claims

Read More

The Evidence You Need to File a Personal Injury Lawsuit Claim in Arkansas

Read More

Are Texting While Driving Laws Working in Arkansas?

Read More

The Tactical Reason to Call an Attorney

Read More

Things to know when thinking about filing a lawsuit

Read More

How Do I Choose A Personal Injury Attorney?

Read More

Three Questions to Ask Before Signing with the Insurance Company

Read More

Respect Can Lead to Big Wins for Injury Victims

Read More

What You Need to Know about Liability Insurance

Read More

Why We Became Lawyers in the First Place

Read More

Why is a medical lien filed against me?

Read More

Special rules for pedestrians and motorcycles in Arkansas

Read More

Can I get a rental car after an accident?

Read More

Do I have to go to court to settle my personal injury claim?

Read More

How to Choose the Right Personal Injury Lawyer

Read More

I was the passenger in a car that caused a wreck. Do I still have a claim?

Read More

Arkansas’ Rural Roads Among the Most Dangerous in the Nation

Read More

Find Resources We Have Created About Cases Like Yours

Contact our 24/7 injury lawyers.We don't get paid unless you do.

Were you injured in a motor vehicle accident?
Yes
No
Was the accident your fault?
Yes
No
When did the accident happen?
2021
2020
2019
2018
Earlier