Arkansas State Police Announce Start Of Anti-Drunk Driving Campaign
March 5, 2012
The Arkansas State Police announced yesterday that this week would mark the beginning of a statewide anti-drunk driving campaign aimed at teens. The agency stated that the campaign would run from March 9 through March 18. Then, from April 13 through April 22, officers will focus enforcement on intoxicated teen drivers.
Authorities say they chose those dates to coincide with the large number of student events scheduled for that time of year that’s known to be associated with teen drinking, such as spring break, proms, and graduation.
State troopers, sheriff’s deputies, and police officers from across the state will conduct saturation patrols and sobriety checkpoints in an attempt to lower the number of alcohol-related teen fatalities in the state this year. In 2010, 47 teens were killed in alcohol-related accidents.
Law enforcement warns teens that they can be arrested for driving under the influence if their blood-alcohol content (BAC) is between .02 and .07 percent. A BAC of .08 percent or higher constitutes the more serious offense of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI).
Offenders can expect a sentence of possible jail time, fines of around $2,000, driver license suspension, and mandatory community service.
The Arkansas DUI Accident Attorneys with Rainwater, Holt & Sexton encourage all drivers to do their part in keeping Arkansas’s highways safe by not getting behind the wheel after consuming alcohol. Instead, call a cab or a trusted friend to get you home safely.